I-9 compliance is important to avoid paying stiff fines for failing to properly verify your employees’ work eligibility. In 14 states, the E-Verify system is required to show I-9 compliance. The U.S. government also recommends that businesses use the E-Verify program.

The following states require use of the E-Verify system:

  • Arizona – The Legal Arizona Workers Act requires use of the E-Verify system for all new hires. Starting in September 2008, the state would only award government contracts to businesses that use E-Verify.
  • Colorado – Starting in January 1, 2007, the state of Colorado began to require state contractors and their subcontractors to use the E-Verify program to demonstrate employee eligibility. Failure to comply with this regulation is punished with debarment from state contracting for two years.
  • Georgia – Beginning in 2007, Georgia mandated that contractors and subcontractors with more than 500 employees use the E-Verify system for all new employees. Starting in 2008, contractors, subcontractors and public employers with more than 100 employees were required to use E-Verify, while the requirement would extend to the same employers with less than 100 employees starting in 2009.
  • Idaho – An executive order by Governor Jim Risch in December 2006 required state agencies and contractors to use the E-Verify system.
  • Minnesota – An executive order in 2009 required state executive branch employees and most state government contractors to use E-Verify. The use of the system is also considered as a factor in applications for state business subsidies.
  • Mississippi – Public employers, state contractors, state subcontractors and businesses with more than 30 employees must use the E-Verify system. By July 1, 2011, all companies must comply with this requirement.
  • Missouri – State government contractors with contracts exceeding $5,000 and businesses that receive state tax credits, abatements or loans must use E-Verify or face possible contract termination and debarment from state contracting.
  • Nebraska – All public employers, state contractors, state subcontractors and employers taking advantage of state tax breaks are required to use the E-Verify system.
  • North Carolina – Starting in 2007, all state agencies, organizations and universities were required to use E-Verify.
  • Oklahoma – The state required E-Verify or a similar system starting in 2008.
  • Rhode Island – An executive order by Governor Carcieri in 2008 required all state contractors, grantees, and subcontractors to use E-Verify.
  • South Carolina – All state government contractors, state government subcontractors and employers with 100 or more employees are required to use E-Verify.
  • Utah – Signed March 31, 2010, requires private employers with more than 15 employees to verify the legal status of new employees via a federally approved employment verification system.
  • Virginia – Requires state agencies of the Commonwealth to enroll in the E-Verify program by December 1, 2012, and to use the program for each newly hired employee who will work in Virginia.

At I-9Compliance.com, powered by Pre-employ.com, our I-9 compliance solution is pre-integrated with E-Verify for instant employee eligibility verification. Our i-9 compliance tools allow you to complete and store the Form I-9 electronically for easy access online 24-7 throughout the year. Users are automatically notified of employment eligibility expiration by email and all activity is logged for auditing purposes.